Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:56 p.m. - 2005-08-19
Reprieve Rant
And yet I was lonely. Something was different this time. The steps leading back to myself seemed to veer and fade, finally disappearing altogether like Hanzel and Gretel's stale scraps of bread. I paced the small square room, surrounded by starfish and coral. I searched the mirror for clues of my whereabouts. I sketched the rubber tree. I watched Geraldo. I cooked my special spaghetti, steaming the windows. I called Ron. Gratefully, he colluded in allaying our respective fears. We named it love. The sense of relief following that phonecall was palpable. And so we lived for a time like familiar strangers on a routine commute, stealing staccato glances at one another during our weekend visits. Curious. Cautious. Glad for the anonymous company. The absence of pain. Comforted somehow by the accidental nudge. What I didn't count on was Larry.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!