Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:36 a.m. - 2006-04-24
Jak and Goose
After receiving Hiss & Tell's beautiful note, I remembered how much I want to include all of you in my joy. All who have read my diary are more than acquainted with my fits and starts regarding relationships. My "original sin" at eighteen consisted of marrying someone I did not love because I didn't know how to get out of it without hurting his feelings. He popped the proverbial question over submarine sandwiches at the park, producing a ring out of thin air. Marriage was the furthest thing from my mind. I was all about stuffed animals and surfers and carrying an ornate torch for this crazy hazel-eyed boy who had just moved to Arizona. Step by heartbreaking step eventually echoed the trembling, guilt ridden virgin down a hard marble aisle one dour Friday evening in Burbank, my parents sitting in the dark pew like statues bearing the stigmata. Nothing was ever to be the same. The course of my life, a runaway rollercoaster careening to and fro in erratic attempts to right the initial wrong. But God is good! After more failed attempts than I can begin to relate in my extensive diary, I am marrying the mate of my soul (soulmate is SO overused), my best friend of seven years. After God, he was the hero of my darkest hour (my father's death) and is now the initiator and celebrant of my current joy. He is tender and affectionate and strong and funny and handsome and poetic and sensible and romantic and devoted and smart and committed and considerate and and and ... once he came over in the middle of the night to kill a spider. That is just how he is. We went to pick out my ring on Saturday. We are known as Jak and Goose (which will be inscribed inside his wedding band). We will marry on August 19th. A garden wedding. His daughter, Natalia, is twelve and chose the theme of A Midsummer Night's Dream. She and her friends will walk "down the grassy aile" in pastel dresses with fairy wings. The garden will be lit all around with "solar fairies" and candles, white twinkling lights in the trees. His son, Eliot, fourteen, will video the event (I got the word on the sly that all guests interviewed are to reply with, "It's about time!". And it is. Yes, it really is! It's about time I made a healthy choice, not one based on desperation and illusion. John is amazing! John is Jak! I am his Goosey. Forever!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!