Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:09 a.m. - 2005-08-09
Accomplice Rant
Slithering down the hill, Ron's old Mercedes hugging the gravelly drive like a snake the color of india ink, I made my way on some pretense into the village. A bulb of garlic for his penne al dente. Perhaps some chianti from the Fair View. Pulling to a stop in the shadow of some rangy mountain bush, I spread the classifieds across the steering wheel like a criminal might lay out the floor plan of a bank. Aderenile pulsed like warm champagne with each passing car. The town was so small, it was hard to go unnoticed. It seemed somehow risky, this clandestine encounter with the girl who emerged in times like these. The phoenix girl who tended to arrive at the last possible moment, yanking me headlong out of the very situations to which she had abandoned me. That girl I loved and hated. Impulsive. Resilient. Following her heart into the pit of hell only to rise victorious as a butterfly. The girl I barely recognized who knew me inside out. The girl I despised and admired. The girl I wanted to be. The girl I was.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!