Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:03 p.m. - 2005-08-07
Preparing to Leave Rant
The knots now seemed irreparable. A chain of delicate gold rendered useless with tangles. Each attempt at unravelling only served to further complicate the original design, threatening the slender links clinging together out of habit and despair. I yanked at the clasp in sheer frustration, my movements devoid of purpose. I had told myself the plausible lie, forfeiting apartment, job and friends for the crippling slipper of glass. Invisible shards lay scattered like land mines along the redwood deck where I gingerly stepped to the tune of sparrow song, the magnitude of this newest error sinking like a crystal sliver in my calloused heart. I wondered how many times I could rise from the ashes I alone had kindled. The reproach was sharp and haunting. I was about to fall once again at my own hand. Trouble my elegant nest. Prove myself a fool in the only eyes that mattered. Still, I knew I could not stay.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!