Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:27 p.m. - 2005-07-07
Rick is Back Rant
The dangerous thrill of being wanted, maybe even needed. The voice my senses imbibed like grand marnier. The intermittent reinforcement of his casual re-entry into my smooth life. And by proxy at that. Sending Roy Orbison to do his bidding. The moment of decision hanging in the air to be savored like a welcome tickle. The dizzying, breathless realization that Rick was back. My fair afternoon suddenly colorless in contrast to the shadow he cast upon my heart. I dialed by rote, responding to some inner call that had a volition of its own. "Miss me?", he wondered. Not exactly that, but something stronger. A melody that had never completely ceased. A tune, continuous and incessant, eminating from some locked attic in my mind. Never acknowledged. Never completely forgotten. We were to meet at the movie theater that Rick managed to manage when he took his mood stabilizers. "Ghost" was appropriately showing. We sat side by side in the dark, shoes sticking to the floor, sharing a popcorn extra butter. He touched my greasy fingers and I felt a shudder that seemed to originate somewhere in my soul. It was not a matter of forgiveness. What we felt for one another was strangely without terms. It was a conscious acceleration in the direction of the cliff that was troublesome. It was that damn transcendence not meant to be experienced by mortals. Not this side of forever.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!